Outfoxed: Rupert Murdoch’s War on Journalism

outfoxed_posterFirst off the format of the film really annoyed me. The little crappy graphics that pop up after people’s commentary was distracting and just pissed me off because it looked so stupid. Oh and the music is so retarded, it’s all ’80s or ’90s and really does not fit the film at any particular scene.

Apart from my visual complaints, the content of the film is rather interesting and covers a lot of what my professors have pointed out about the ethics of Journalism.

The film critically dissects Rupert Murdoch’s Fox News Channel, which is well-known for being a conservative news channel. Several tactics the film pointed out about the Fox network caught my eye. The first being that when anchors on the network try to insert opinion instead of attribution of a source (because there isn’t one) they say “some people say”. This is something that as a Journalism student, you are forbidden to use (at least in class). The whole point of Journalism is to source your information and I just found it amusing that the collage of clips they showed had all of their anchors using it several times. Then again the point of the film is to make Fox look hypocritical.

I also liked how a lot of the interviews are with people who had previously worked in the Fox Network as producers or contributors.

Of course this documentary is bias, it has an angle like most other documentaries. If I had to rate it, I’d give it a 4/5 for content but a 2/5 for editing and visuals. I just think it could have been presented better visually and structurally. Seriously though, it’s a good film especially if you have an interest in Journalism… see it!

Outfoxed

3 thoughts on “Outfoxed: Rupert Murdoch’s War on Journalism

  1. You may enjoy my current post about Rupert Murdoch. When I found the information, it was eye opening.

Leave a Reply

