Father’s Day ’09

fathersday2009

Ignore the missing apostrophe in 'Fathers'; there's no way I'm going back to fix it.

I love you Dad   :)

For Father’s Day, my dad and I went and played golf. I totally let him win…
I also baked him a cake. I used a box mix which kind of pisses me off because I hate using them. However they always turn out really well so I decided to make it a little extra special by slathering the middle of the cake with Dulce de leche. I got the idea from my friend Jimena who made an amazing Dulce de leche chocolate cake for my birthday. Yummm

Fd2009cake

Dad's Father's Day cake

As I found when I was researching, there are several ways to make Dulce de leche.

The Oven Method: Pour a can of condensed milk into a pie plate. Place the pie plate into a larger oven safe casserole dish. Then pour hot water into the casserole dish about half way up the pie plate. (a water bath) Cover the pie plate with foil and bake for 1 hour to 1 hour and 25 minutes.

The Two Hole Pot Method: Make two holes in the top of a can of condensed milk. Remove the label and place the can with hole side up into a pot. Pour water into the pot within 1 inch of the top of the can. Keep the water at a simmer and allow to cook for 3 to 4 hours.

The No Holes Pot Method: (Great name, I know)  This is the method I used. First take the label off of a can of condensed milk. Bring a pot of water to a boil and place the can in the pot making sure the can is completely submerged. Turn the heat down to a simmer and allow to cook for 3 to 4 hours. Make sure to add more water to the pot if it needs it during the 3 – 4 hours.

I did find online that for the last method there is a concern the can could explode. This didn’t happen to me, but beware the can does rattle. This kind of freaked me out so maybe I’ll use the two hole method next time?

fd2009cake2

P.S. The reason the cake is yellow is because making gold frosting is freaking hard unless you have the gold coloring. My Dad is a huge fan of the steelers, literally my dog’s name was ‘Steeler’ when I was growing up. The whole idea of the cake is that you cut into it and the inside would be black / chocolate and the frosting would be gold / vanilla just like the Steeler colors.

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day ’09

Leave a Reply

