Year One

Photo courtesy of
Photo courtesy of slashfilm.com

All I have to say is WHAT THE FUCK?!

Honestly, I really had no intention of seeing this movie, but my friend Jime invited me to the midnight showing last week so I decided to go.

This movie was just so disappointing, it really wasn’t that funny…. at all. The only thing I found humorous was Michael Cera’s little awkward comments throughout the film and the very disturbing oil rubbing scene, which I dare not explain.

This movie had so many cameos of really funny people. It’s just sad that none of it translated to a funny movie.

I found that Rotten Tomatoes’ review put it best:
Consensus: Year One is a poorly executed, slapdash comedy in which the talent both in front of and behind the camera never seem to be on the same page.”

yearone_493x422

I’m sure some people liked this film, but on a personal level I felt kind of cheated. It definitely wasn’t worth the $11 I paid (or will pay Jime; I still remember!) . It’s total gross for it’s opening week is up to $20,200,000 according to the LA Times website so I’m sure somebody likes it. Anyways, I’m sure these guys will have plenty of future hits and I wouldn’t go so far as to call this a bomb, but it’s definitely not a must-see either.

One thought on “Year One

Leave a Reply

