2009 Los Angeles AIDS Walk

For more information, look here: AIDS Walk

AIDS01

volunteers cheered the crowds on

AIDS 02

AIDS 03

AIDS 05

On an unrelated note: I want a puppy!

Anonymous protesters heckled the AIDS walkers as they progressed down the street.

Anonymous protesters heckled the AIDS walkers as they progressed down the street.

AIDS 06

Walkers respond to the protesters by cheering even louder.

Volunteer Ken Hansen, 44, tries to drown out the protesters as he encourages runners on.

Volunteer Ken Hansen, 44, tries to drown out the protesters as he encourages runners onward.

Walkers hug and kiss infront of the protestors.

Walkers hug and kiss in front of the Anti-Gay protesters.

A walker makes a heart with her hands to the protestors

A walker makes a heart with her hands towards the protesters.

AIDS 11

AIDS 12

An anonymous protester heckles the walkers.

AIDS 13

my opinion:

The best part of this event for me was laughing at these protesters. Honestly, this had nothing to do with them. It was a day where people came together to help raise money for AIDS research and last time I checked it’s a pandemic that afflicts both heterosexuals and homosexuals. I must admit that I stayed in this area because many of the walkers would become energetic as they passed and responded to these protesters. It was fascinating to witness.

This anonymous protester that I ellude to in the above pictures refused to give me his name. It was kind of funny because he told me to “make one up.” and I replied with “I’m a journalist, I can’t make things up.”… It felt kind of great to say that to him, seeing as I couldn’t say what I was thinking.

Leave a Reply

