Spanglish Sandwich

This has to be my favorite sandwich of a ALL TIME. Yep, I used caps, I’m serious.

If any of you have seen the film, Spanglish (2004) and you’re completely obsessed with food, you noticed the amazing looking sandwich Adam Sandler’s character made. You are definitely a foodie if you know what I’m talking about.

Now the true to heart Spanglish Sandwich recipe goes like this:

*Photo & Recipe taken from here*

Now, I typically make my shortcut version because I don’t always have that particular cheese, lettuce or bacon in the house. So mine goes like this:

My Spanglish Sandwich

Ingredients:

2 slices of sourdough bread

1 egg

fresh spinach leaves

slices of turkey lunch meat

sliced tomatoes

slices of avocado

Mayo, Dijon mustard, salt & pepper

Toast the bread in a toaster or in a skillet with butter . Set aside. Then cook the egg until firm, but the yoke is still gooey (that’s just my personal preference). Spread mayo and mustard on the bread slices and place  spinach on one slice and pile the turkey on top of that. Then, place the cooked egg on top of that and add the slices of tomato. Sprinkle salt and pepper over the tomatoes. Finish off with slices of avocado, which is a necessity in all of my sandwiches.

My version is similar to the original spanglish sandwich, but not quite the real thing. Believe me, the real thing is worth the crazy calorie content… I believe the article above says 1,145 calories!! Ehh maybe like a once in a year kind of thing. So I guess mine’s a low-cal / convenient version of the real thing.

Regardless of labels, it’s just plain yummy to me. Enjoy the noms!

One thought on “Spanglish Sandwich

Leave a Reply

